Diocese of Bristol to license seven new Lay Ministers

First published 15th October 2020

On 17 October, the Diocese of Bristol is licensing seven new Licensed Lay Ministers (LLMs) in a socially distanced service at Bristol Cathedral, involving both the Rt Revd Vivienne Faull, Bishop of Bristol, and Rt Revd Dr Lee Rayfield, Bishop of Swindon.

The service will take place on Saturday 17th October at 10.30am. 

After the licensing, the new lay ministers will be able to preach and lead services.

The newly licensed lay ministers are:

  • Karen Brown
  • Nick Childerhouse
  • Portia Chorlton
  • Charlie Ewer-Smith
  • Antony Jefferies
  • David Martin
  • Celia Tweedie-Smith

The service will be subject to existing Covid-19 restrictions with a maximum of 30 people allowed at each service. Candidates have had to limit the number of people they can invite. The services will be live-streamed on Bristol Cathedral’s Youtube account and social media accounts so family and friends can watch from home.

The Rt Revd Vivienne Faull, Bishop of Bristol, said:

“I am delighted to be joining with Bishop Lee Rayfield in a service of licensing for our new lay ministers. The role of lay ministers is an important leadership role in the ministry of the whole people of God. Those being licensed have worked hard on their study and formation in the period leading up to this day and they are to be congratulated at reaching this point. I will be praying for them as they embark on this new chapter in their service of Christ at a challenging time for our nation and the communities they will serve”

Details of how to watch:

Powered by Church Edit