Our Deaneries

Map of the Diocese of Bristol

A deanery is a geographical area within a diocese. In the Diocese of Bristol there are a total of seven deaneries, each led by an Area Dean. Each deanery is divided into parishes, and these are grouped into benefices. 

Bristol City Deanery

Area Dean: Revd Canon Dr Rod Symmons
Phone: 0117 330 3574
Email: rod.symmons@bristoldiocese.org

Deanery Lay Chair: Anne Laurence
Deanery Secretary: Caroline Taylor
Deanery Treasurer: Bob Bell

Uganda link: Dioceses of Central Buganda and West Buganda

Bristol South Deanery

Area Dean: Revd Canon Nick Hay
Phone: 07534 249338
Email:  nickthevichay@gmail.com

Deanery Lay Chair: Christine Dursley
Deanery Secretary and Area Deans Assistant: Sarah Yates
Deanery Treasurer: M Miller

Uganda link: Dioceses of Mbale and North Mbale

Bristol West Deanery 

Area Dean: Revd Charles Sutton
Phone: 0117 974 1355
Email: officeallsaintscliftonbristol@gmail.com

Deanery Lay Chair: Helen Clifton
Deanery Secretary: Brendan Biggs
Deanery Treasurer: David Fenn

Uganda link: Diocese of Nebbi, Kitgum and Northern Uganda

Chippenham Deanery

Area Dean: Revd Sally Wheeler
Phone: 01225 892180
Email:  marshfield.benefice@gmail.com

Deanery Lay Chair: Ron Pool
Deanery Secretary: Vivienne Fuller
Deanery Treasurer: Aurea Hart

Uganda link: Diocese of Mukono

Kingswood and South Gloucestershire Deanery

Area Dean: Revd Jeremy Andrew
Phone: 0117 967 2724
Email:  j.andrew.102@btinternet.com

Deanery Lay Chair: Mrs Kate Davison
Deanery Secretary: Caroline Murphy
Deanery Treasurer: Bill Brookshaw

Uganda link: Dioceses of Ankole, West Ankole and Ruwenzori

North Wiltshire Deanery

Area Dean: Revd Alison Love
Phone:  01249 720619
Email: alisonjlove1@gmail.com

Deanery Lay Chair: David Briggs
Deanery Secretary: Hilary Greene
Deanery Treasurer: Hilary Greene

Uganda link: Diocese of Kigezi

Swindon Deanery

Area Dean: Revd Captain Clive Deverell
Phone: 01793 877111
Email: clive.deverell@btinternet.com

Deanery Lay Chair: David Cain
Deanery Secretary: Greta Davies
Deanery Treasurer: Mark Gillingham

Uganda link: Dioceses of Kampala & Luweero