General Synod

The General Synod governs and legislates for the whole of the Church of England, debates matters of national and international importance, formulates new forms of worship and sets the national Church’s budget.
The General Synod comprises the Convocations of Canterbury and York, joined together in a House of Bishops and a House of Clergy, to which is added a House of Laity. The Diocese of Bristol elects three Clergy and three Lay representatives alongside the Bishop of Bristol to be members of the General Synod. It meets in February in London and in July in York, and occasionally in November in London.

Read more on the Church of England website →


House of Laity representatives

Froude David
David Froude

Shaw Edward
Ed Shaw

Yemm Ian
Ian Yemm


House of Clergy representatives

Gainsborough Martin
Revd Prof Martin Gainsborough

Langham Paul
Revd Paul Langham

Pilgrim Mark
Revd Canon Mark Pilgrim

Latest General Synod news

RSSLoading Feed...
More news →

You are here: