Head and shoulders image of Vivienne Faull and Lee Rayfield

Senior clergy

Our bishops lead and oversee the Church in the Diocese of Bristol.

Rt Revd Vivienne Faull is the 56th Bishop of Bristol. She was consecrated Bishop at a service at St Paul’s Cathedral in July and there will be a service of welcome for her at Bristol Cathedral in the autumn.

Rt Revd Dr Lee Rayfield, the Bishop of Swindon, supports the role of the Diocesan Bishop. He works across the Diocese alongside his community leadership role in Swindon.

The Venerable Graham Archer is the acting Archdeacon of Malmesbury

The Venerable Michael Johnson is the acting Archdeacon of Bristol

The Very Revd Dr David Hoyle, Dean of Bristol, leads Bristol Cathedral, has a community leadership role in the city of Bristol and is a member of the Bishop’s Staff.

Contact details for senior clergy can be found on the Staff Directory page.


Area Deans

The Diocese of Bristol is split into seven deaneries each if which is led by an Area Dean

Media enquiries:

Members of the press who would like a comment or wish to arrange an interview with Bishop Lee or Archdeacon Christine should contact the Diocesan Communications Officer, Ben Evans.